Everyone knows vinegar, but when it comes to the question of how it is made and how the different types differ, knowledge usually stops there. In this article, you can find out more about the production and special features of different types of vinegar.
How vinegar is actually made
There are basically two different types of vinegar. A distinction is made between fermented vinegars and flavored vinegars. Flavored vinegars are created when finished vinegars are mixed with must, fruit puree or flavorings. Fermented vinegars, on the other hand, are produced directly by fermentation. For example, apple cider vinegar is produced from the direct fermentation of ripe apples.
Which varieties are available
There are many different types of vinegar, including fruit vinegar, wine vinegar, vegetable vinegar, brandy vinegar, grain vinegar, rice vinegar and balsamic vinegar. Fruit vinegars are based on fruit, have a low acetic acid content and are somewhat milder in taste. As some fruits such as raspberries or apples are more suitable than some other fruits, these vinegars are often used as a base and flavored with other fruits or herbs. Herbal vinegar, for example, is one such variant.
Wine vinegars are also made from fruit, namely grapes, but have a more intense taste as wine has a higher alcohol content. Brandy vinegar, on the other hand, has very few flavors of its own, but has a characteristic acidity. This makes it ideal for pickling. Another specialty among vinegars is balsamic vinegar, which also uses grapes that are first boiled down to thickened must and then fermented into alcohol and then vinegar.
As the variety of vinegar types already shows, there is also a wide range of possible uses. Vinegars are not only ideal for seasoning salads, but also serve as an ideal ingredient in vegan recipes as an egg substitute in baking. Here, for example, you can find a recipe for vegan chocolate cake with apple cider vinegar or a moist carrot cake.